Marty Zewick was an accomplished and impassioned artist who died this past year.  She was one of the founders of the Edom Craft Community and the Edom Art Festival, now in its 49th year.  To honor her legacy, a one-time award will be given to an artist in the Upper East Side of Texas who has demonstrated creative ability and is serious about a professional career in the arts. The award ceremony takes place during this year’s festival at the Artists’ Dinner Saturday, October 9, 2021.

If you are an artist who wants to apply for the $10,000 Marty Zewick Artist Award, click on APPLICATION below to review the criteria. Applications are accepted starting July 1 and ending August 31, 2021.


A one-time Marty Zewick Artist Award in the amount of $10,000 to enhance their art career will be given to the winning applicant during a ceremony taking place Saturday, October 9, 2021, at the Edom Art Festival Artists’ Dinner.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

• Currently resides in the Upper East Side of Texas — an area defined by the 75 zip code.

• Has demonstrated creative ability with defined/finished work.

• Is serious about a professional career in the arts.

• The winning artist will be given a booth at the 2021 Edom Art Festival. They must be available to set up their work in the booth on Friday, October 8, and man it from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, October 9, and Sunday, October 10. Artist may sell their work, or simply display.

Applications will only be accepted from  July 1 to August 31, 2021.

Applications MUST include five high resolution jpgs of artwork, and one reference letter. Final deadline for all applications and attachments is NOON, Tuesday, August 31, 2021.

Van Zandt Arts & Cultural District Foundation
P.O. Box 608
Ben Wheeler, TX 75754
Call or text (214) 707-9512 for more information. Email applications to

Many thanks to the generous donors who made this award possible to honor the late, beloved artist Marty Zewick.

Anonymous (11)
S and G Rommer
Gaile Wilhite
Janet Love
Jim Easterling
Blueberry Hill Farms
Custom Scientific
Ann Robinson
Martha Smuts
Susy and Mike Haley
Randy Brodnax & Friends Art Show
Sharon & Jim Johnston
Laura S. Curtis
Benjamin & Maggie Brodnax
Serri Ayers
Jeff Gottesman
Donna McKelvey and Danny Phillips
Kevin and Jennifer Box
Carol Hardage, Sunny Keene, and Casey Taylor
Pat Pusateri
Steve Kriechinbaum
Ann & Bill Faulkner
Skip & Jeffrey Lynch
Diane and Rick Teter
Magnus Liljenberg
Mary Wilhite
Michael Dillon
Obranovich Pottery & Fiber
Randall and Barbara Fleming
Patricia Tennery
Blue Moon Gardens
Mike Bradshaw
Noel D. Ischy
Bud and Annie Berry
Christine Maxa
Kelli and Fred Slack
Jill Dickerson
Ron Gleason
John Bederman
Josephine Alcade
Charla Rolph
Kenny Elerson
Ada Leah Wolf and Duane Brown
Joe and Carol McElroy
Linda Hutchins
Carol Riedel
Guy Gooding
Potters Brown
Katherine & David Templin
Jacque Gavin
Shannon Rider
Rip and Cindy Cunningham
Green Goat Winery
Ellen and John Marshall and Onderdonk
Linda Mastaglio
Rita Marie Ross
Jennifer Morales
Terry Lam
Tom and Karol White
Richard and Flora Cohen
Mary Jane Nalley
Kelly Bradley
Quentin Neill
Terry and Dee Buck
Audrey Legatowicz
Gary Huntoon
Sandy Mittelstet
Kelly and Vic Clark
Jill Russell
Gayle Finch
Arneta Kelly
P.A. Geddie
Liza Ely
Jeff Basehore
The Miller Wright Family
Anne Kimbrough
Shelly Tornquist
Wendy Pope
Michael and Debi Maddox
Stanley Ashlock
Lisa & Cecil McKenzie
Bob & Kelli Phillips
Conner McCaslin
John Christian
Rica and Ed Garcia
Jennifer Salama
Kathy and Wayne Rossi
Cathy Poquette
Artworks Foundation
Creations of Jo
Diana Moxon
Susan Hennen
Jan Byron
Gary and Gabrielle Bachers
Renee Whitmyer
Charlotte L. Dorsey
Wanda L. Morris
Mia Emslie
David Eye
Kathleen Warwick